Alphabetical Listing
Audio Only Listing
Video Only Listing
Rush
Fly By Night
Caress of Steel
2112
All the Worlds a Stage
A Farewell to Kings
Archives
Hemispheres
Tour of the Semispheres
Permanent Waves
Pre-Moving Pictures Tour
Moving Pictures
Exit Stage Left
First Tour of the Nadars
Signals
Pre-GUP
Grace Under Pressure
Second Tour of the Nadars
Power Windows
Hold Your Fire
Presto
Roll the Bones
Counterparts
Test For Echo
Vapor Trails
30th Anniversary
Snakes and Arrows
Snakes and Arrows Live
Time Machine
Miscellaneous
Ron's Vault Release #5

Artwork


Bookmark: http://www.digitalrushexperience.com/database/review.php?RecordingID=1758
Media: 2 CDr Audio
Time: 47:22, 46:05
Catalog: Rons Vault Release: RVR005
Source: 1st Gen Cassette
Date: September 28, 1977
Location: Selland Areana, Fresno, California, USA



DISC 1
Bastille Day   5:56
Lakeside Park   4:42
By-Tor and the Snow Dog   4:47
Xanadu   11:49
A Farewell To Kings   6:08
Cygnus X-1   10:02
Something for Nothing   3:55

DISC 2
Anthem   4:49
Closer to the Heart   3:12
2112   18:58
Working Man   4:12
Fly By Night   2:04
In the Mood   2:38
Drum Solo   5:49
Cinderella Man   4:22



18863a879c4824270c435dc2c04aba78 *Rush 1977-09-28d1t07.shn
ca311944ced2db16e660012fe4289027 *Rush 1977-09-28d1t01.shn
1f244015e3e628184cd8160bb3924602 *Rush 1977-09-28d1t02.shn
8cd38db134d669ba9284c0ef754de58e *Rush 1977-09-28d1t03.shn
0f2954d2df19029cf1f98e32336b701a *Rush 1977-09-28d1t04.shn
738bce8415acbfab2333f1f50cabea45 *Rush 1977-09-28d1t05.shn
1b851a87068f96ce972f0455ed279bc0 *Rush 1977-09-28d1t06.shn

fd3dbaf8613501afbe2ee761cd5743ad *Rush 1977-09-28d2t01.shn
1714a31f19642ae6ecdf22ebe2e75334 *Rush 1977-09-29d2t08.shn
47abe15d195bf334b0f03c67ea432879 *Rush 1977-09-28d2t07.shn
d8670b54032ca175baeb82e1576bba69 *Rush 1977-09-28d2t06.shn
3760d5476a3a5ce82fa6e67f3cec602f *Rush 1977-09-28d2t05.shn
365839df2e650ac04fb9d3a71d507bd9 *Rush 1977-09-28d2t04.shn
b3760254d87582f6a55f189a7eed0572 *Rush 1977-09-28d2t03.shn
6b358b6df51e40d18e02fbe5b1f306a5 *Rush 1977-09-28d2t02.shn



Rons Vault Release 5 Back.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Cover.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Disc1.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Disc2.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Foldout TN.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Foldout.jpg
Rons Vault Release 5 Inside Front.jpg


Average Rating:Audio: 8.214285714285714

dreamdin
   (Audio - 9)

Release Notes: This is one of those shows that makes you glad to be a Rush collector, and proves that even after nearly 30 years, there are still gems to be unearthed out there. This show came to me in March of 2005. Of course, itís one thing to discover a new AFTK show, still another to find one from so early in the tour, and yet another to find out that it has the best sound of any show from the tour. To really cap things off, this show has a unique feel to it. The band seems to be in a really upbeat mood tonight, which translates to a loose performance with a lot of joking around by Geddy. The sound is exceptionally clear for a 1977 audience recording. As a matter of fact, why even qualify that last statement? This recording easily holds itís own with some of the better audience recordings of nearly ANY era. This was reported to me as sourced from a 1st gen tape. As with the other volumes of these releases, the goal is 100% preservation. This means that I have done nothing to alter the sound of this recording, and I'm passing it on exactly as it came to me. With that in mind, I donít care where you torrent it or what you do with it. (Anyone who cares enough whether they have a lossless copy is going to be smart enough to be able to figure out whether they have a lossless copy). Special thanks as always to Dan Eckert for the artwork.   (2006-04-16)

Rush0212
   (Audio - 6)

VG   (2007-01-19)

IntoTheLens
   (Audio - 8.5)

Are we the Rush community becoming jaded? Mr. Smetek has helped surface a brilliant gem. I just can't understand why I didn't hear more about this show. IMHO, this is easily the best King's show there is. The clarity of instruments. The lack of annoying crowd noise and tape hiss. The "added" sounds on the older numbers. The boys are changing and growing in leaps and bounds at this point. This show, more than any other I've heard from this tour, captures exactly that. Plus, one listen, you know they are having a blast doing it. I was smiling ear to ear. Newbie collector are you looking for the best and most definitive AFTK show? Thanks to Ron and his source, YOU FOUND IT. Enjoy.   (2007-02-25)

Edisonbaggins
   (Audio - 8.5)

Not the best of the aud boots out there, but possibly the best on this tour! The sound is great for this tour and there is no fire cracker-igniting m*^ther f#@ker ruining parts of any of the songs, unlike another great aud recording from this tour...   (2007-06-24)

Eric
   (Audio - 8)

I definatly wouldn't say this is a 6 like one of the persons above me, this is a great source, sound wise, and its really rare, for 1, because is a Kings show, and 2, because this venue is pretty rare. Rush was pretty nice on this night, everything is definatly on fire. No tape hiss, and barely any crowd noise in the songs. The only real problem is that it sounds a little compressed, but still one of the better bootlegs from the tour. Highly recommended.   (2008-11-17)

C-Blocker
   (Audio - 9)

what i am mostly impressed with is how well represented and clear the bottom end is on a recording THIRTY-TWO YEARS OLD -- the Taurus pedals hum along magnificently (i'm listening to this w/ big Sony headphones on fwiw.) the Moog is clearly defined. vintage instruments, captured crisply. Ron was the beneficiary of a mellow central Cali crowd. as others have so eloquently pointed out, this band is just rounding into form around this point in time... 20+ min stretches of jamming, a band still on the ascent and a gem of a boot to behold. anyone rating this boot a 6 doesn't deserve to live.    (2009-02-06)

Mr Clueless
   (Audio - 8.5)

Without a doubt this is the best AFTK boot out there, even if it's a bit compressed. When I first got it, I wasn't expecting nothing beyond than a good sounding recording. To my ears it sounds as an old official tape. Judging by performance, I'd easily give it a 9.5 as it's far superior than the officially released Hammersmith '78. The band is clearly enjoying themselves all thoughout the show and this is what counts the most.   (2009-08-07)

All content © 2017 The Digital Rush Experience