Alphabetical Listing
Audio Only Listing
Video Only Listing
Rush
Fly By Night
Caress of Steel
2112
All the Worlds a Stage
A Farewell to Kings
Archives
Hemispheres
Tour of the Semispheres
Permanent Waves
Pre-Moving Pictures Tour
Moving Pictures
Exit Stage Left
First Tour of the Nadars
Signals
Pre-GUP
Grace Under Pressure
Second Tour of the Nadars
Power Windows
Hold Your Fire
Presto
Roll the Bones
Counterparts
Test For Echo
Vapor Trails
30th Anniversary
Snakes and Arrows
Snakes and Arrows Live
Time Machine
Miscellaneous
Exit... Stage Right

Artwork


Bookmark: http://www.digitalrushexperience.com/database/review.php?RecordingID=1378
Media: 2 CDr Audio
Time: 61:39, 56:57
Catalog: Moose Records: 0498-03/4
Source: Audience
Date: March 01, 1981
Location: International Amphitheater, Chicago, Illinois, USA



DISC 1
2112: Overture
Freewill
Limelight
Hemispheres: Prelude
Beneath, Between, Behind
The Camera Eye
YYZ / Drum Solo
Broon's Bane
The Trees
Xanadu

DISC 2
The Spirit of Radio
Red Barchetta
Closer to the Heart
Tom Sawyer
Vital Signs
Natural Science
Working Man
Hemispheres: Armageddon
Bytor and the Snow Dog
In the End
In the Mood
2112: Finale
La Villa Strangiato



Exit Stage Right back.jpg
Exit Stage Right front.jpg
Exit Stage Right.pdf
esr back lq.JPG
esr front lq.JPG
stage right disks.jpg
stage right front.jpg
stage right inner front.jpg
stage right tray.jpg


Average Rating:Audio: 8.5

Brent's Bootlegs
   (Audio - 8)

First I'd like to say that this is an incredible show. It is very similar to to Hartford '81 except you don't get exactly the same songs (very close though) and it sounds a bit better. You get to hear Geddy announce YYZ as "YY Zed". You get to hear a sweet reggae rendition of "Working Man". You also get to hear an entire energy packed set of Rush at one of their finest moments. Oh yeah, did I mention it has great sound? This show isn't entirely perfect though (pretty close). Every once in a while the sound cuts off for a brief moment in one channel but its not that often and nothing that would make you pissed off about it. Other than that flaw -- this boot gets Brent's seal of excellence.    (1999-04-01)

Cary's Notes
   (Audio - 8)

This is the best MP show that I have heard (though I've not heard 6-16-81 yet). It's not a soundboard like the Hartford show, but it sounds much better in my opinion. The mix is near perfect, definitely better than that of Exit Stage Left. This is also the complete show from the beginning of Overture to the end of La Villa, though I suspect it's missing the encore. Pick this one up if you can, it just doesn't sound like a bootleg.    (2001-06-24)

Bill Girton
   (Audio - 8)

This is a very good audience recording. All of the instruments can be heard fine and the audience does not interfere. It is a full show from the Moving Pictures Tour. There are a few minor sound disruptions caused by the person recording the show. It sounds like he shuffles the recorder around. There is also a little splice during The Trees. Nothing drastic. The band puts on a good performance and there are a few additional intro's to some songs. This is actually when the band began to include Wipeout into the set. Overall a very good show.    (2001-06-24)

Chris
   (Audio - 9)

Excellent bootleg, about as good as you are going to get from an audience recording. Nearly flawless with the exception of a small cut in The Trees.    (2001-06-24)

Nate Hertzog
   (Audio - 8)

This one is really cool. The sound starts out kinda weak on Overture and Temples, and then during Freewill it gets a bit muffled for a few seconds, after which the sound becomes great and it stays great for the rest of the show. It quickly became one of my favorites. The closing medley is just awesome, with the reggae Working Man. And this has The Camera Eye.    (2001-06-24)

Ben's Notes
   (Audio - 8)

A more complete picture of the Moving Pictures tour! Where "Left" fails " RIGHT" succeeds! First and foremost, this is a complete show! Why bands continue to release shortened versions of concerts is beyond me Any way? This is a great sounding show! I'm almost convinced that this is a soundboard since the crowd doesn't seem to get in the way of anything. (However, everything I've read thus far says audience!) With that in mind it may have been a "production" soundboard for a live album (or a radio broadcast) since there is enough crowd noise to make it sound LIVE but not enough to make it sound like an audience source. (And this is much more live than the ever stagnant "ESL"!) One of the things that makes me wonder about the original source are Neil's high-hat "chicks" during Xanadu, CLEAR AS A BELL! A few "source" related problems here and there, (as well as a tiny cut in The Trees) and maybe a few generations removed from the master, but all in all great sound! THIS is what Exit Stage Left should have been! Definitely one to have in the collection!   (2001-06-24)

BG
  

The guy who says this is a soundboard is wrong. It's quite obvious that this was recorded a good hundred yards out into the venue.    (2005-02-01)

HENDRIX
   (Audio - 9)

I will say that the first time i heard this boot, I thought of my first Rush concert. That was the Moving Pictures Tour 81 in Vancouver BC. Let me tell you it was fantastic, more than I expected... magical if you will. Same goes for this wonderful bootleg, clear hardly any croud noise..... what a treat to hear Neil, Geddy and Alex rip it up in probibly the best time frame for the band. ESR is a shade better than Anaheim 81, atmosphere a plenty here for sure. If you like Rush get this show and witness a great band on a great night.   (2005-02-10)

Hal Willingham
   (Audio - 9)

Certainly the best audience recording of any era Rush show I personally have ever heard.It has a lot of soundboard dynamics.Somebody was certainly in the right place!!   (2007-01-29)

Eric
   (Audio - 9.5)

Wow, this has to be one of the best recordings from the tour. All of the instruments sound like it was right in front of the taper, sou you get the nice and full sound that you want from any recording device. Overall, the sound quality is close to perfect, so I have to recommend this to casual bootleggers and hardcore bootleggers.   (2008-11-16)

All content © 2017 The Digital Rush Experience