Alphabetical Listing
Audio Only Listing
Video Only Listing
Rush
Fly By Night
Caress of Steel
2112
All the Worlds a Stage
A Farewell to Kings
Archives
Hemispheres
Tour of the Semispheres
Permanent Waves
Pre-Moving Pictures Tour
Moving Pictures
Exit Stage Left
First Tour of the Nadars
Signals
Pre-GUP
Grace Under Pressure
Second Tour of the Nadars
Power Windows
Hold Your Fire
Presto
Roll the Bones
Counterparts
Test For Echo
Vapor Trails
30th Anniversary
Snakes and Arrows
Snakes and Arrows Live
Time Machine
Miscellaneous
Bigger & Better In Texas

Artwork


Bookmark: http://www.digitalrushexperience.com/database/review.php?RecordingID=1212
Media: 3 CDr Audio
Time: 48:01, 45:04, 72:58
Catalog: Rush-Signals Production: #RSP-961205-2
Source: Soundboard (DAT Master Clone)
Date: December 05, 1996
Location: The Summit, Houston, Texas, USA



DISC 1
2001 Intro   1:33
Dreamline   5:04
The Big Money   7:07
Driven   5:19
Half The World   3:56
Red Barchetta   6:58
Animate   6:56
Limbo   5:38
The Trees   5:25

DISC 2
Red Sector A   5:25
Virtuality   6:12
Nobody's Hero   5:32
Closer to the Heart   5:04
2112   22:50

DISC 3
Test for Echo   7:15
Subdivisions   5:42
Freewill   5:43
Roll the Bones   6:18
Resist   4:43
Leave That Thing Alone   4:50
The Rhythm Method   8:21
Natural Science   8:14
Force Ten   4:50
The Spirit of Radio   4:58
Tom Sawyer   6:43
YYZ/Cygnus X-1   5:16



There is no artwork available for this title.


Average Rating:Audio: 9.875

Dave@Rush-Signals Productions
   (Audio - 10)

Most likely you have heard, or at least heard about, this soundboard recording from the first leg of the Test For Echo tour. The source for this release is closer to the master than anything previously circulated. Therefore, it has a much cleaner, fuller and brighter sound. It is the complete show with excellent stereo sound quality. This is a must have for any collection.

Some have said this source is a ALD (Assisted Listening Device) others have claimed it's a true sound board. This is the second version of this I have received, the first did sound like an ALD device, this one however sounds like a true sound board.??    (2001-06-01)

The Digital Dan
   (Audio - 9.5)

This is a great soundboard recording from the T4E tour.? Neil is definitely captured well on this mix.? Some may find the highs a little too bright or the low end not strong enough.? I really can't tell, sounds great on my stereo and I have a couple of 12" subs powered by a 500w amp.? Seems to have enough bass to bring down my house if I'm not too careful.? If you are a Rush fan, you will do yourself a favor and get this show.? I do agree that this was a great find.?    (2001-07-27)

Mark Schnieder
   (Audio - 10)

This is a truly superb T4E tour recording. There are now several shows from this tour of soundboard quality but this one is the best as of this writing (6/1/01). This may in fact be the second best of all Rush recordings - second only to "Buenos Nochas, Mein Frankfurt" (Hemispheres Tour, a recording that likely never will be outdone). The sound is amazingly crisp and the music range is completely broad and well proportioned. In an effort to give a balanced review, the only virtually irrelevant criticism of the sound I could offer is that the overdubs and electronic percussion is ever so slightly over-emphasized in the mix. The "back and forth, left to right" effect in the 2112 Intro is also a nice touch. Geddy is quite animated this evening, making southern jabs to the Texan crowd. One woman makes repeated cries for attention to Neil at certain points throughout the show - enough to amuse but not so much to annoy. Obviously, I feel this show is a must have.    (2001-06-01)

Zontar2112
   (Audio - 10)

Well, there is debate whether this or GWASS is the best - and there isn't much to choose from the 2 except that the overall mix and ambience might go to GWASS. All instruments are crisp and clear - and the performance is excellent. But, there is something in this show that I really like above the rest on this tour - Alex's solo at the end of 2112 - the combination of low crunchy notes is something I have never heard in that section of the song ('oracle:the dream' I think is the section) ... right after "..this cold and empty life ..."., I got goosebumps the first time I heard it. Overall, a must for any collection - and if you want something a little different from Alex in this tour, this is a good pick!    (2005-04-13)

Jon Bernreuter
   (Audio - 10)

This is the best source from the Test for Echo tour I have heard. Very balanced sound, with plenty of bass.   (2007-01-19)

eddiescott98
   (Audio - 10)

Hands down, this is the best recording out there. Why this isn't an official release is a mystery. T4E was a fantastic tour. This is a must have show!! eddie   (2007-01-20)

Kris
   (Audio - 10)

This is an excellent recording. I mean how can you go wrong with a soundboard? It's lacking a little bass but still a great ROIO. If you have an opportunity to download this show or trade for it do it. You will not be disappointed.   (2007-02-18)

Aramis K. Vidaurre
   (Audio - 9.5)

Another excellent and flawless performance. Sound quality is really great. Maybe a little bit low; you have to turn up the volume to get a perfect mood. The emphasis is on the voice and drums (thanks God for this!), the guitar is a little bit low in certain segments (in “Dreamline”, “Animate”, “Closer to the Heart” it is perceivable). The bass great during 2/3 of the show, at least to me. It has a very nice Beachboyish (or sort of a twist) ending for “Big Money”. “You are Texans, aren’t ya?” asks Geddy. Sorry, I didn’t get the joke on this one; perhaps my non-US status places me off the curtain to appreciate it. “Half the World” and “Red Barchetta” decrease the pace they were creating. In fact, I don’t see anything special in “Half” to have it into the setlist. Perhaps they should have played it during “Half” of the show or maybe add something different during “Half” of the song… “Limbo” and “The Trees” are perfect for a different mood. Maybe a little bit too loaded of chants (just in case: “a monotonous rhythmic shout or call”, Webster’s II dictionary, 1984). “Red Sector A” is played without warning. The diminishment on the guitar makes it just another song not “another Red song” as Geddy used to introduce it several times during the GUP tour. A serious song is then played after “Virtuality”: “Nobody’s Hero” with Alex and Geddy avoiding the countryish kind of playing-around. I really like this song, not that I feel identified or the sort, just a good one with a special mood. The drum has what it sounds as an effect, kind of an echo. Wow, they play the 2112 at full scale. Of course after this the guys needed a break. This boot has that intermission segment, which is paired up with “Test for Echo” intro –at least this is assumed due to the cut between them- that is perfectly performed. You can hear a lady screaming “Neil, Neil”, why not “Geddy, Geddy” or “Alex, Alex”? Just kidding, they can scream whatever they want. Another remark: being in Texas, wouldn’t it have been better to introduce “Test” with “Houston, we got a problem”? Ok, enough. Again the guitar mix makes as if there was something in the tune. Then, “Subdivisions” takes over (thanks guys for this song). Nevertheless, the synth is little bit low except for the distortion effect – which makes “Sub” what it is-, the guitar is higher and the bass is low as well. From my very perspective the bass was made certain adjustments in part three. Even in “Leave that Thing Alone” where it has an excellent part, it doesn’t get the full throttle. After “The Rhythm Method” (nothing to add, Neil can play whatever he wants), “Natural Science” gets in the way. The acoustic part intro is little bit behind in terms of the sound (or mix?), but the riff with the change of tempo is just great. Again the bass is not as great in “Force Ten” as in other boots. At mark 3:00 and during ten seconds Alex is perhaps thinking “What am I gonna do?”, since the bridge to the full riff sounds like mis-shaped. “The Spirit of Radio” and “Tom Sawyer” (with the 1,2,3,4 intro) are perfect for Geddy ‘s “Thank you very much Houston, good night”. The crowd just gets crazy. They simply have to wait 1:12 to see the guys back with “YYZ - Cygnus”, which is just as a teaser. Gosh it is a shame that the bass is too low. Well, another great venue despite any small inconvenience.    (2007-08-06)

All content © 2017 The Digital Rush Experience